Skip to content

Apeejay School Pitampura Assignments

Continuous Comprehensive Evaluation

A system of regular grading has been introduced for all classes. These grades are based on a series of assignments in the form of class application; written work in class. These are tabulated together with a record of achievement at the end of each term. The aggregate of the three terminal report cards is considered for promotion at the end of the Academic Year.

Formative Assessment 1 (FA1)

21st April to 11th July
10% of the total marks

Formative Assessment 2 (FA2)

14th July to 12th September
10% of the total marks

Summative Assessment 1 (SA1)

12th September to 27th September

30% of the total marks

Formative Assessment 3 (FA3)

10th October to 5th December
10% of the total marks

Formative Assessment 4 (FA4)

8th December to 13th February
10% of the total marks

Summative Assessment 2 (SA2)

(For Class III to X) February to March

30% of the total marks

FA1 + FA2 + SA1 + FA3 + FA4 + SA2 = 100 Marks

Schools across the city are using all tools and techniques of the Central Board of School Education’s new evaluation scheme — Continuous and Comprehensive Evaluation (CCE) — in middle classes (classes VI, VII, VIII), to familiarise students with it. The CBSE had implemented the scheme in Class IX last October. This academic year, the scheme is being implemented in Class X as well.

The CBSE has, in fact, prescribed that CCE should be implemented in classes VI, VII and VIII as well, which many schools have adopted. The CCE takes into account both the scholastic and non-scholastic aspects and students are given grades instead of marks.

The CBSE, meanwhile, is also coming up with a teacher’s manual. In a teachers’ training workshop on August 8, the CBSE had asked principals for suggestions. Usha Ram, principal of Laxman Public School, Haus Khas, said, “The CBSE will send it to all schools after implementing the suggestions. It (CCE implementation in classes VI, VII and VIII) will take time, but will happen ultimately.”

She added: “We used to have grades till Class VIII in our school, now only the nomenclature has changed.” New terms like “Formative Assessment” and ‘Summative Assessment”, that were being used in classes IX and X will now apply to middle classes as well.

According to the CCE, there are two formative assessments (FA1 and FA2) and one summative assessment in one academic year. The SA is a pen-and-paper exam while as the FAs are assessed on the basis of performance in home assignments, projects, quiz, discussions, seminars, debates etc.

Apeejay School, Pitampura, has already introduced the scheme in middle classes. “Last year when the scheme was introduced in Class IX, we introduced the same in Class VIII as well so that students get to know what they are going to face in Class IX.” This year, the school has extended it to include classes VI and VII as well.

Manleen Ahluwalia, principal of Gyan Bharati School, Saket, said, “Since CCE says we have to grade students in co-scholastic areas and life skills, we are formulating the descriptive indicators. We already had grading in classes till VIII, the new thing will be the evaluation of co-scholastic areas.”

Source : Indian Express